Language Assistance

There is language assistance available in many of the 50 States. There are certain states that have specific counties that provide assistance in Spanish language. Below there is a listing of States with the counties that provide Spanish language assistance.

It should be noted that a jurisdiction not specifically covered by the language assistance provisions of Sections 203, 4(f), or 4(3), the Voting Rights Act (VRA) still generally prohibits any practices, standards or procedures that deny language minorities the right to vote.  Section 2 of the VRA protects Latino and other language minority voters against discriminatory practices that affect their ability to participate in elections even if they live in jurisdictions that are not specifically covered by the VRA's language assistance provisions. 


Spanish Language Jurisdiction

Aleutians East Borough


Greenlee County
Maricopa County
Pima County
Santa Cruz County
Yuma County



Alameda County             
Colusa County
Contra Costa County
Fresno County
Glenn County
Imperial County
Kern County
Kings County
Los Angeles County
Madera County
Merced County
Monterey County
Napa County
Orange County
Riverside County

Sacramento County
San Benito County
San Bernardino County
San Diego County
San Francisco County
San Joaquin County
San Mateo County
Santa Barbara County   
Santa Clara County
Stanislaus County
Tulare County
Ventura County


Costilla County
Denver County
Rio Grande County


Fairfield County (Bridgeport town)
Hartford County (Hartford town, East Hartford town, New Britain town)
New Haven County (Meriden town, New Haven town, Waterbury town)
Windham County (Windham town)
New London town


Broward County
Hardee County
Hendry County
Hillsborough County
Lee County

Miami-Dade County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County

Polk County


Cook County
Dupage County
Kane County
Lake County


Finney County
Ford County
Grant County
Seward County


Montgomery County


Boston, Chelsea, Fitchburg, Holyoke, Lawrence, Lowell, Lynn, Revere, Southbridge, Springfield, Worcester


Allegan County (Clyde township)
Hartford city


Colfax County
Dakota County
Dawson County


Clark County

           New Jersey
Bergen County                      Middlesex County
Camden County
Cumberland County                Passaic County
Essex County                         Union County
Hudson County

New Mexico


Bernalillo County
Chaves County
De Baca County
Dona Ana County
Eddy County
Grant County
Guadalupe County
Harding County
Hidalgo County

Lea County
Luna County                                   Mora County     

Rio Arriba County                          

San Miguel County                        

Socorro County                             

Taos County                                  

Valencia County

New York

Bronx County
Kings County
Nassau County
New York County
Queens County
Suffolk County
Westchester County


Berks County
Lehigh County
Philadelphia County

Rhode Island

Providence County (Central Falls city, Providence city, Pawtucket city)



Andrews County
Atascosa County
Bailey County
Bee County       
Bexar County
Borden County
Brewster County
Brooks County
Caldwell County
Calhoun County
Cameron County
Castro County
Cochran County
Concho County                
Crane County   
Crockett County
Crosby County
Culberson County
Dallas County    
Dawson County
Deaf Smith County
DeWitt County
Dimmit County
Duval County    
Ector County     
Edwards County
El Paso County
Fisher County   
Floyd County    
Frio County        
Gaines County
Garza County
Glasscock County
Goliad County
Gonzales County
Guadalupe County
Hale County      
Hall County        
Hansford County
Harris County    
Hidalgo County
Hockley County
Howard County
Hudspeth County
Irion County      
Jeff Davis County
Jim Hogg County
Jim Wells County
Karnes County
Kennedy County
Kinney County
Kleberg County
Knox County     
Lamb County    
La Salle County
Live Oak County
Loving County
Lubbock County 
Lynn County      
Madison County
Martin County
Matagorda County
Maverick County
McMullen County
Medina County                
Menard County
Midland County
Mitchell County
Moore County
Nolan County
Nueces County 
Parmer County
Pecos County   
Presidio County
Reagan County
Reeves County
Refugio County
Runnels County
San Patricio County
Schleicher County
Scurry County
Starr County      
Sterling County
Sutton County
Swisher County
Tarrant County
Terrell County
Terry County     
Titus County      
Tom Green County
Travis County
Upton County
Uvalde County
Val Verde County
Victoria County
Ward County
Webb County
Wharton County
Willacy County
Wilson County
Winkler County
Yoakum County
Zapata County
Zavala County


      Salt Lake County
    Virginia      Fairfax County


Adams County
Franklin County
Yakima County
   Wisconsin     Milwaukee City